The Face Behind the Words

Hi, I’m Heather! I want to introduce you to the person behind the keys. (Some of you might have read through my About page. [If you haven’t check it out here]) Yesterday, I posted about my anxiety and really opened up for the first time. I don’t know why but I’m worried that people will forget about the real person here and only remember the fact that I have anxiety. In reality, there is so much more to me than my anxiety. I have lots of hobbies and interests that are very diverse. Those are what make me. I am not my anxiety. (Also, I want to use this post to share some pictures from my childhood.)

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

First, I want to say a big THANK YOU to everyone who read, liked, and commented on my post yesterday. That post was so hard for me to write and even harder to hit ‘Publish’ on. But the response that it has gotten has been the greatest thing and such an encouragement. I wouldn’t be doing any of this if it wasn’t for all of you. You all mean the world to me and I’m inspired by the community that we are beginning to form. I can’t wait to see where we go in the future.

A few things about the face behind the keys. This is the Heather who has always been here. Deep down I haven’t changed from my anxiety. I’m still the same caring nerd who is obsessed with reading, computers, people and YouTube.

July 2005-A 033

I love music and have a very diverse taste. Fun fact, I play the flute and have played it since I was 12. Interestingly epic classical music and rock music are my writing music. I switch between the two regularly while I write blog posts. On top of those I love Country music, Broadway Musicals, Disney Music, Classic Rock, and A Capella music. Some of my favorite artists are, Lynard Skynard, Alan Jackson, Tim McGraw, Rodney Atkins, Peter Hollens (Check out his amazing YouTube Channel ), Lindsey Stirling (she also has a great YouTube Channel) Tim Wong (He also has a great YouTube Channel) And that’s just a sampling of my music taste. Trust me there’s much more.

Reading has always been a love of mine. The books I read are very diverse on their topics. From Biographies of missionaries and great Americans to Sherlock Holmes to The Princess Bride to The Book Thief it encompasses all of me.

IMG_0460

Food has always been a passion for me too. I love cooking and have been cooking since I was 7. I need to post more recipes on here. What kind of recipes would you want to see? Comment below, I’m generally curious what you want to see.

Writing is something that I have always loved. I started getting really serious with it 2 years ago when I started writing my Murder Mystery novel. I don’t think I’m the type of person who you would guess writes gory, descriptive, and emotional death scenes seasoned with sarcasm.

I love YouTube. (If you couldn’t tell from my music suggestions. Trust me that’s barely a dent in what I watch.)

I love history and researching stuff. My most recent topics have been Mental Illnesses and entrepreneurship. I have always been fascinated by history and learning about how people lived in different times and places.

I love calligraphy, drawing, painting, crocheting, knitting, sewing, and eating. (Fun fact, I keep snacks around my laptop because I’m that lazy and get hungry that often…)

I’m quirky and love sarcasm, jokes, and puns. I love computers and social media. (Instagram is probably my favorite) I would love to learn how to do professional web design. (I may or may not have redesigned this blog like 5 times in 3 weeks… I’m sorry to anyone who has gotten confused by the new design and layout every time you visit. I think I’m happy with the layout I have right now and probably won’t change it for a while.)

Thank you for joining me on my journey through adulthood. Hopefully my life lessons can help you. I’d love to inspire people to run after their dreams no matter what your personal trials are. You can do whatever you work at. It just takes hard work, time, and patience. 2017 has been a year where I’m really acknowledging my anxiety and opening up about it. I’m also starting my journey to overcome it. Join me as I catalog my journey here.

I will be posting lots of other things here besides my anxiety. That brings me to a point, what would you like to read about here? Travels? DIYs? Family life? Anxiety? Recipes? My thoughts? Comment below. I’d love to know. It means so much to me that you’re taking the time to read this.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Also, I broke my arm when I was 6. That was random, but here’s a pic of me with the cast.

Thanks again for reading this.

Heather

(Please like, comment, and share this post. It really supports my blog.)

 

7 thoughts on “The Face Behind the Words

Leave a Reply

