Finding Comfort in God’s Thoughts

_DSC9352

Hello, peoples, it’s Heather, as usual, I’m jumping on the beginning of this guest post to say hi.  Today, at camp, we worked on this piece by Mozart and it sounds SO much better than it did on Monday! It’s incredible how much these kids have improved in just 3 days! I can’t wait till our concert on Friday!

This camp has been a part of my life for 4 years. My entire high school years, I spent a week every summer at this camp. It’s such an honor to be able to volunteer at this camp that was the launching pad for me starting to really play the flute. I can’t say thank you enough to the people at this camp. Each and every person at it has touched my life every single year!

Today’s post is written by my friend Kayla! She wrote about Isaiah 55:7-8. Enjoy! Comment below what you thought of the post! I really like what she did with these verses.

 

Finding Comfort in God’s Thoughts

By: Kayla Lawrence

“Let the wicked man forsake his way and the unrighteous man his thoughts; and let him return to the LORD, and He will have compassion on him, and to our God, for He will abundantly pardon.

 

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.

 

How would you feel if you were aware of grossness in your own heart? And how would you feel furthermore if you meanwhile faced the fact that God Sees Everything?

I’ve felt that way once and it was like I was a trapped bird with nowhere to go but to a dreadful blade in the future, where I belonged. Even the bedroom that belonged to me and my sisters in our family’s house and which I had normally felt at home in now felt unfriendly.

As a person of extremes, I often think either all the way in one direction or all the way in another. Dwelling so much on my unrighteous and inadequate self had led me to think dangerous and despairing thoughts. To put it simply, thinking like that had to stop.

I took up the solution that was closest to my own head, and it is my conviction to this day that, next to the loving kindness that one can get from another person, it is indeed the forever best solution to stopping spiritual depression.

I had to find out what God had to say.

You see, something was unbalanced. As bad as I felt about myself, the big starry sky outside was singing and the Houston palm tree leaves were still growing, exploding out like green fireworks like it was the best night in all of the world. God was not showing anger out there. He would certainly show just as much mercy and a wise perspective in the Word to get me back up on my feet with solid peace of mind.

I didn’t have a particular preselected reading destination, so I read the place to which I first opened the book up: Isaiah 55.

(Note: Although I did that then, I do not endorse the purposeful random opening of the Bible and blind landing of fingers to determine God’s apparent instantaneous and direct word to a specific person. )

WHAT a THING to read when I was dwelling on my own shortcomings!

I paid special attention to the verses above (they’re 7 and 8 respectively). Read them again, would you? Sure, God could still read my mind. But He wasn’t thinking at all what I was thinking! Even to people like me, if I would only let go and repent of what I’d been doing wrong, He–the Maker of the world Who holds it in His fist–would do nothing less than receive me with compassion and abundantly pardon.

 

Imagine if you will a child who breaks a very important rule in his house and his mother catches him. It is such a terrible rule to break that it is guaranteed that not Mom but Dad himself is going to do the disciplining just as soon as he gets home. By breaking the rule, the child has not only caused havoc in the house, but he also has broken the heart of his father, who is guaranteed to be very sad and angry.

The child is aware that his Dad, although at work, is able to pick up the phone at any time and talk. At his Mom’s suggestion, he calls his Dad immediately.

The little boy doesn’t ask to get off the hook. Instead, he acknowledges what he did and he expresses how sorry he is for making his Dad so angry. “It’s going to hurt when you come home, I understand,” he adds.

“We’ll see about it,” his Dad replies.

The child’s mother observes her son for the rest of the day without his awareness. His words and actions indeed express that he wants to make things right even though he can’t possibly pay for the damage. She secretly calls her husband and tells him all about it.

At around dinnertime, the child expects nothing at all positive to come from his father. He fidgets and finds it hard to smile. But the minute the front door opens, Dad smiles and opens his arms wide to hug him! He announces plans to go out somewhere exciting!

The child pauses, as astonished as he is, and instead points to the things that he has ruined. His lip quivers–he does not want to get punished, but he knows that that order of business must come first.

But Dad makes it clear that his anger does not last forever. “I’m putting the loss on me,” he says to his astonished son, “Because I decide what happens here and I commend your desire to make things right. I’ll pay for it. Let’s go. And then I’ll show you how you too can love others like this in the future. What do you say to that?”

 

My story is not perfect but I hope that it gets the point across. God has an invitation for the broken and despairing of soul, and, once accepted, He promises to be the Father he or she needs for real life. That is why I like the verses from Isaiah 55 so much. They are a wonderful comfort and among those that show firmly and plainly that God loves us.

Understand, finally, the price God has paid for sins. It was a big one. The life of His perfect Son so that we could become His sons as well, clothed in Jesus’ righteousness.

I know I’m a doink for not sharing anything less basic than this, but it’s been spoken all the same for everyone to hear and then to consider unendingly.

Well, how did I reply when I read Isaiah 55:7-8 back when I did? I remember both laughing and crying because I was both comforted and tired. There was God’s gracious invitation and I had no excuse for turning it down. He didn’t think like me and that was what mattered. I have an obligation to fight sin on every day and this here still hits me. When ridding my life of sin is my great desire because I know God hates it and I love Him, I can be sure of this: that compassion and abundant pardon have come from God to forgive me for all time.

Now I’m interested: How has Isaiah 55:7-8 affected you?

 

Kayla Lawrence is a slightly crazy young writer whom presently lives in Arlington, Texas with her big homeschooling family. God has loved her relentlessly through no effort of her own, although she is gradually learning to do many harder things in life just because those things are good to do, for Him if for anybody. She loves Jokes, monkeys, playing the piano, drawing random pictures, exploring places, and researching facts whenever she’s not busy. At this time she’s creating a blog about her life [That’ll launch soon. Keep your eyes out!] and developing her space on Facebook, https://www.facebook.com/kaylalawrence.lawrence

9 thoughts on “Finding Comfort in God’s Thoughts

  1. This is an important verse! We are stuck in our own little view of what is going on around us. God as the 10,000 foot view of what is going on in our lives. He can see around the corners and he will work things out together for our good.

    I chuckle sometimes at what I think should happen in a situation and then I think about what God would have to say about it. He is probably grinning, thinking to himself, “Brenda, if you only knew…”

    I love Isaiah 55:8 and like to piggy back it with: Jeremiah 29:11 (ERV) I say this because I know the plans that I have for you.” This message is from the Lord. “I have good plans for you. I don’t plan to hurt you. I plan to give you hope and a good future.

    Because God’s thoughts and ways are higher than ours, his plans for us are better than we can imagine for ourselves. I take great comfort in that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

