Simple Truths – Kelly Kate

Hey, guys! It’s Heather, I have another guest post for you! Today, my friend Kelly wrote about the simple truths we find in God’s word! Comment your favorite bible verse below!

Enjoy!

Picture_20170801_125402963

Simple Truths

By Kelly Kate

“Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth. Worship the Lord with gladness; come before him with joyful songs. Know that the Lord is God. It is he who made us, and we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.”        Psalms 100

This verse is my favorite verse in the whole Bible! It always reminds me to not praise myself or other people or other things, but instead it reminds me to praise God. God created everything, even me. And God gave me the talent to be able to do what I do so He deserves my praise! A lot of times I will say, “Hey, look what I did.” But really I should be saying, “Hey, look what God did through me.” Or “Look at what God gave me.” Everything comes from God and we need to remember to thank Him and praise Him for all the wonderful gifts He has given us. Without God we are living meaningless lives. Actually, without God we wouldn’t even be here because He created us. We also need to realize that through our own power and understanding we control nothing and can do nothing, but with God everything is possible

Picture_20170801_191744175

“I can do all things through Christ who stregthens me.”

Philippians 4:13

With God the impossible become possible. Within the word impossible is the word possible so everything is possible. Just think, God gave Moses the ability to part the Red Sea to save the Israelites. I bet people would have said that that was impossible. But see, it was possible through God. This is just one example out of many. The whole Bible is filled with amazing stories of how God made possible what is impossible for man alone. I saw a quote once which said:

Picture_20170801_125402963

“Don’t tell me the sky’s the limit when there are footprints on the moon, don’t tell me the moon’s the limit when we serve a limitless God.” ~Anonymous.

I don’t know who said that, but I love it anyway. That quote reminds me that nothing is impossible with God. A lot of people say, “The skies the limit.” meaning there are no limits, but if the sky is the limit, then there is a limit. But with God, there is no limit. Anything is possible.

Psalm 100 says that we are the sheep of God’s pasture. When I hear this I imagine a shepherd keeping watch over his sheep, making sure no harm comes to them, but also letting them wander and make their own decision. God is a shepherd who would fight off a wolf for one lone sheep, just one. He doesn’t just protect the flock who stays together and lets that one lone sheep get eaten. No! He cares for every single sheep and He cares for us the same way. Trust God and know that He is looking out for you, protecting you, loving you.

I also love how at the end of the verse it says, “For the Lord is good and his love endures forever.” This part reminds me that no matter what I do in life God will always forgive me and love me. All I have to do is ask for His forgiveness and accept His love. I don’t know about you, but I need God’s forgiveness and I am so thankful for it. For me it’s hard to forgive people; it’s something I’m working on. I know it is important for me to forgive because God forgives me. This also shows how much greater God is that He is willing and able to just forgive someone at the snap of the fingers if we only repent and ask for His forgiveness.

For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you.

Matthew 6:14

All we have to do is ask, but even that is often hard for us because we have so much pride. It’s humbling to admit when we are wrong and to ask for forgiveness, but I for one am so thankful we serve such a forgiving God because we are all sinners that need forgiveness every single day. I also feel like whenever we ask God to forgive us, we are humbling ourselves and God uses that to draw us closer to Him. God uses everything in life to strengthen us and draw us closer to Him. In life God gives us challenges to strengthen and grow us. Even when you feel like everything is weighing on you and you feel like you can’t move on, God will help you and guide you. He will never give you something you can’t handle.

Picture_20170801_191328016

“Hardship often prepares ordinary people for an extraordinary destiny.” ~C.S. Lewis

God knows how far we can go and how hard He can push us. Imagine you are a runner and you are training to run a marathon. The week before the marathon you get up every morning and your coach makes you run until you almost pass out or throw up. Every day you come home exhausted and feeling like you never want to run again, but the next morning you get up and do the same thing and feel the same way. Day after day after day until the day of the marathon comes and you are able to run the whole race because your coach pushed you harder than you would have pushed yourself. Your coach pushed you because he knew you could do it. Your coach didn’t push you past your breaking point, but he pushed you to your breaking point. This is what God does in our lives. He pushes us to our breaking point, but not past it. Every time God pushes us, our breaking point moves farther away. Your breaking point today will be your starting place tomorrow.

Another thing I like so much about Psalm 100 is that every time I read it I just want to smile and sing and dance and shout praises to our great and mighty God. Even when I’m having a rough day it always picks me up and puts a smile on my face. I hope that when you read Psalm 100 it makes you smile and lifts up your spirit as it does mine.

I would love to hear what your favorite verse is so comment below. Or you can email me anytime at hellosisterscreative@gmail and will get back to you pronto.

Thanks for reading

Kelly Kate is a thirteen year old writer who enjoys reading, music, chocolate, family and friends. She lives in beautiful California with her parents and 6 siblings. Kelly has always wanted to be an published author, and this brings her one step closer to accomplishing that goal. To read more thoughts by Kelly Kate, come check out the blog she runs with her three sisters: Sisters Creative.

9 thoughts on “Simple Truths – Kelly Kate

Leave a Reply

