DIY Bullet Journal + Bullet Journal Inspiration

To me, a bullet journal is a planner that is also a little more. In mine, I keep track of my day to day life: My to-do lists, my plans, etc… But, I also have pages for things like: Lists of things I’m grateful for, Habit trackers, Favorite quotes, and more!

What is a bullet journal to you?

 

To make a Bullet Journal, you need a notebook and some sort of writing utensil.

PSX_20171009_103019

I used a large sketchbook my friend gave me for my birthday.

PSX_20171009_104458

Ultra Fine Point Sharpies

PSX_20171009_104645

Bic Mark-it permanent markers

PSX_20171009_102524

And pentel energel pens.

PSX_20171009_102712

First, you want to dedicate one – three pages for your index, my book has huge paper so I only left one page for this.

The next pages can be done in any order you want. That is the best part of bullet journaling: It is completely your own. You get to put in whatever pages you want. You can leave out any pages you want. You can make your pages in whatever style you want.

I decided to make my journal completely from scratch: I started with completely blank pages and did everything by hand. You could find printable sheets and fill them in. But, I like doing things with my own two hands.

Would you be interested if I made printable worksheets for a bullet journal that you could fill in? Comment below if I should do that.

The next page in my book is my September Month Spreadsheet:

Picture_20171009_110219638

The things I marked out, are birthdays and such of friends and family. I didn’t want to share all their names and such on here for privacy reasons. I don’t say any names on here or show any pictures of people’s faces without their permission. So, the only thing you can see on this is my choir schedule…

Next, I have my September Habit Tracker and Gratitude page. But, I didn’t get a picture of it, I’ll show my Ocotber one in a minute and it’s basically the same…

PSX_20171009_102309

Then, I have my weekly spreads. I make 5 or 6 of these per a month depending on how the days work out. I use these sheets to keep track of my daily to-do lists. My blog post schedule, what I’m working on that day. My workouts. And, for this week, I took some extra time and used the extra space to add in some of my favorite quotes and sayings to make this page look all pretty.

PSX_20171009_102238

Then, I have my ‘Key’ page. On here, I added in little symbols and what they mean so that I can use them as shorthand when I’m writing things out on my spreadsheets. I also assigned different pen colors to different things to make it even easier to see what each thing was.

PSX_20171009_102056

Next, is my ‘Favorite Quotes’ page. I currently only have 2 quotes on here, but I will add more in the future! I like this page because I can devote it entirely to playing around with calligraphy.

PSX_20171009_105444

Next is my ‘September Memories’ Page, I blurred this out because it mostly has birthdays and anniversaries and some personal/family stuff on it and I don’t want to share that stuff on the internet.

And, that ends my September pages!

Picture_20171009_110007116

Next, is the October month spreadsheet. I honestly don’t really write much on these because the spaces are so small. I mostly use them to keep track of birthdays, holidays, anniversaries, and important things.

PSX_20171009_105720

This is my October Habits and Gratitude page. I’ve done pretty well with the habits that I’m trying to make. One habit I’m trying to include, is spending a few seconds writing down 3 things that I’m grateful for every day. Sometimes they’re big things and sometimes they’re small things. It really helps me to remember to appreciate all of the things that God has blessed me with. What 3 things are you grateful for today?

PSX_20171009_105122

Next is my weekly spreads. This is what a completely blank one looks like. Near the end of each month, I start planning out my next month and make all of this stuff again. I like doing it ahead of time so that I can write in things as I learn about them.

PSX_20171009_104939

This is what a week spread looks like at the beginning of the week. I just have my blog posts planned out, choir notes filled in, and a couple of things on my list of goals for the week. Usually, Sunday’s are the day that I devote to filling in my week spread for the week and deciding which posts I’m going to work on which days. And, I list in all the small tasks that I need to do to complete those blog posts. This really helps me to focus and get everything done and not forget any steps in making a post.

Writing everything out like this helps me to be calm. I don’t have to worry about things because I can just look in my book and see exactly what I have to do every day. I can also see what events I have coming up and the times that they are. I need to know these things so I can plan my day around them.

PSX_20171009_105339

And, lastly, I have my ‘October Memories’ page which as you can see, has no memories in it yet… But, I will take the time over the next month to add in stuff that I do. I like adding in this page because I can look back on it in the future and see the important milestones that happened each month.

I love using my bullet journal to keep track of my life and to use as a way to record my life. I can’t wait to look back on it in 5 years and see all of the things that I did this year and in the years to come. I wonder how long it will take me to fill this book…

And, that’s it for today.

 

Questions: (Comment your answers below)

Would you be interested in bullet journal printables if I designed them? If yes, how should I do them? On the computer? Or hand draw them and scan them into the computer and make them that way? Which pages would you be interested in?

What 3 things are you grateful for today?

Are you going to make a bullet journal? If you use any of my ideas, tag me on Instagram and Twitter and use the hashtag:  #bulletjournalingwithheather

And that’s all she wrote.

 

Soli Deo Gloria,
Heather

Pinterest Pic

Also, you should totally save this idea to Pinterest for later!

 

5 thoughts on “DIY Bullet Journal + Bullet Journal Inspiration

  1. I LOVE this idea Heather! I am so limited on time and would love if you made downloadable pages as I don’t have time to make the whole thing by hand. (It’s also a great idea to give as a gift if people subscribe to your blog.)

    I always have looked for the perfect planner, but never occurred to me to just make it myself. Love this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, Yay! That makes me so happy! I’m thinking I might do a November planner update or something like that. I’ll definitely include some printables in there!

      I’m the same way! I could never find a planner that I liked that I could afford. So, back in August, I jumped out on a limb, and set up a bullet journal after looking at a ton of stuff on Pinterest and a bunch of YouTube videos! And, I couldn’t have been happier with it! I literally use it every single day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

